HomeAbout Sierra LeoneThe Government

The Government


His Excellency President Dr. Ernest Bai Koroma, Leader of the All People’s Congress (APC) and Head of State, is considered by his numerous followers all around Sierra Leone and in the Diaspora as The Hope of the Future.

Born October 2nd 1953 of APC pedigree in Makeni, Bombali District, Northern Sierra Leone, Dr. Ernest Bai Koroma is the eldest son of seven children. He attended the Sierra Leone Church Primary School, Government Secondary School (Boys) Magburaka and Fourah Bay College, University of Sierra Leone. He graduated in 1976 from Fourah Bay College, University of Sierra Leone following which he taught at the St. Francis Secondary School in Makeni before joining the Sierra Leone National Insurance Company in 1978.


President Koroma moved over to the Reliance Insurance Trust Corporation (Ritcorp) in 1985 and became its Managing Director in 1988, a position he outstandingly held up to the March 2002 Elections.

H.E. Dr. Ernest Bai Koroma’s followers will readily inform that he represents the grassroots of Sierra Leone and the disadvantaged and they constantly cite his unblemished and enviable public record. Read more...

Hon. Chief Samuel Sam-Sumana is a native of Kono District in the Eastern Province of the Republic of Sierra Leone. He is the fourth son of the late Chief Samuel Sam-Sumana and Haja Sia Hawa Sam-Sumana. He was born on the 7th of April 1962 in Koidu Town, Kono District.

Vice President Sam-Sumana attended the Jaiama Secondary School in Kono and the Ahmadiya Secondary School in Freetown. He holds a Bachelor of Science (BSC) degree in Management Information System from the Metropolitan State University, Minnesota, USA. He also holds two Diplomas (Diamond Rough Grading, Sorting and Polishing) from the America Institution of Diamond Cutting and Polishing, Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA, and a Diploma (Computer Network Support Specialist) from Knoll wood Computer and Business School, St Louis Park, Minnesota, USA. Read more...

His Excellency President Dr. Ernest Bai Koroma

Vice President: Dr. Victor Bockarie Foh

Ministers of State are appointed by the President and confirmed by Parliament.

Minister of Finance and Development Mamodu L. Kargbo
Minister of State 1 Momoh Vandi
Minister of State 2  
Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation Dr. Samura M. W. Kamara
Deputy Minister Ebu Jusu
Minister of Justice and Attorney General Joseph Fitzgerald Kamara
Minister of Information and Communication Mohamed Bangura
Deputy Minister Cornelius Deveaux
Minister of Mineral Resources Alhaji Minkailu Mansaray
Deputy Minister Abdul Ignosis Koroma
Minister of Health and Sanitation Dr. Abubakarr Fofanah
Deputy Minister Zulainatu Cooper
Minister of of Agriculture and Food Security & Forestry Prof. Monty Patrick Johes
Deputy Minister 1 Marie Jalloh
Deputy Minister 2 Lovell Thomas
Minister of Political and Public Affairs Nanette Thomas
Deputy Minister Akhmed Femi Mansaray
Minister of Works, Housing and Infrastructure Alhaji Ibrahim Kemoh Sesay
Deputy Minister Kadija O. Sesay
Minister of Lands, Country Planning and the Environment Diana Konomanyi
Deputy Minister Mamoud Tarawali
Minister of Energy Henry Macauley
Deputy Minister 1 Major Ismail Koroma
Deputy Minister 2 Osmond Hanciles
Minister of Water Resources Momodu Maligi
Deputy Minister Randolph Foday Bayoh
Minister of Transport and Aviation Balogun Koroma
Deputy Minister M. A. Jalloh
Minister of Trade and Industry Capt. Momodu Allieu Pat-Sowe
Deputy Minister Ibrahim Mansaray
Minister of Local Government and Rural Development Maya Kaikai
Deputy Minister Ibrahim H. Kaloko
Minister of Internal Affairs Major (Rtd.) Alfred Palo Conteh
Deputy Minister Capt. (Rtd.) Ishmael Sengu Koroma
Minister of Education, Science & Technology Dr. Minkailu Bah
Deputy Minister 1 christiana Thorpe
Deputy Minister 2 James Morlai Kamara
Minister of Labour and Social Security Dr. Matthew Teambo
Deputy Minister Augustine Nyuma Kortu
Minister of Marine Resources and Fisheries Elizabeth Mans
Deputy Minister Charles Rogers
Minister of Tourism and Cultural Affairs Sidi Yahya Tunis
Deputy Minister Bella Fornah
Minister of Social Welfare, Gender and Childrens' Affairs Dr. Sylvia O. Blyden
Deputy Minister Rugiatu Neneh Turay
Minister of Defense H.E. Dr. Ernest Bai Kororma
Deputy Minister Capt. (Rtd.) Abdul Rahman Kamara
Minister of State, Vice President's Office Dr. Mohamed Gibril Sesay
Resident Minister South Muctarr Conteh
Resident Minister East Karamoh Kabba
Resident Minister North Alie D. Kamara